Archive for April, 2010

PowerCLI: Configuring additional portgroups

April 29th, 2010 No comments

I had to configure additional portgroups based on vlanids on a vSphere cluster. I couldn’t use host profiles to apply the configuration on all hosts.

$vCenter = Connect-VIServer -server(Read-Host "Please enter the name of your vCenter Server.")
$Cluster = Get-Cluster -Name (Read-Host "Please enter the name of the cluster whose servers need to be reconfigured.")
$vSwitch = Read-Host "Please enter the name of the vSwitch on which the portgroups need to be created."
$PGfile = import-csv -Path (Read-Host "Please enter the path to the csv file with the new portgroups to be added to the vSwitch")

$Cluster | Get-VMhost | `
$vSwitch = Get-VirtualSwitch -Name $vSwitch -Vmhost $_
$PGfile | `
Foreach {
$vpg = New-VirtualPortGroup -VirtualSwitch $vSwitch -Name $_.PortGroupName
Set-VirtualPortGroup -VirtualPortGroup $vpg -VLanId $_.Vlanid

Disconnect-VIserver -Server $vCenter -Confirm:$False

The script asks for

  • vCenter IP or FQDN
  • Cluster Name
  • vSwitch name
  • Path to the csv file

The csv file contains the portgroup names and vlanid’s.

Categories: VMware Tags: , ,

VMworld 2010 Registration

April 27th, 2010 No comments

VMware opened the registration for VMworld 2010.


More Labs – Self Paced

All Labs are self-paced so you have more freedom and options to choose from.

No Session Registration

No need to pre-register this year. You’ll have ample opportunity to attend the sessions of your choice as each one will be repeated at least twice.

Knowledge Experts

Collaborate with industry leading subject matter experts in sessions, discussions and one-on-one meetings.

Categories: Uncategorized, VMware Tags:

New vSphere certifications names confirmed

April 21st, 2010 No comments

Jon Hall confirmed the names of the new vSphere certifications which will be released somewhere in May.

  • VMware Certified Advanced Professional – Enterprise Admin
  • VMware Certified Advanced Professional – Design

In order to become VCAP you need to be VCP 4 and then take an additional exam. The Enterprise Admin 4 exam for VCAP – Enterprise Admin and the Design 4 exam for the VCAP – Design certification.

More detailed information can be found on Scott Vessey’s Blog.

Categories: VMware Tags: , ,